Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts

Monday, 2 March 2015

JUST EAT Tried and Tasted - Jimmy Wok Chinese in Hadley Telford

Have you ever ordered a takeaway from JUST EAT?  I have to say hadn't until last week.  Well as it turns out they have a vast range (more than I had imagined) of takeaways across the country that will deliver to your door.
It's also fantastic for helping you decide exactly what you want to eat - choose from Pizza, Chinese, Indian, Italian, Fish and Chips, Kebabs and more.




















After us both deciding on Chinese we logged into JUST EAT  and found it so easy to order, you tap in your postcode, then select what cuisine you want to eat.  If you can't make your mind up, select 'Show Me Everything'.  This then brings up a list of all the takeaways that deliver in your area.  Just browse the menu of your chosen takeaway and add dishes to your basket.

Friday, 20 February 2015

Mexican World of Flavours Cookware Range by KitchenCraft

Now without sounding like an advert (that's not my intention) but it has to be said, the World of Flavours cookware range by KitchenCraft is, in my opinion simply stunning.
I love the style and bright colours, just look how good everything looks. Of course the build quality is excellent too.

First up is the Nacho and Dip Serving Dish which of course not only looks good but is practical too and certainly draws attention of guests. 


Also part of the range is this gorgeous Burrito Dish - fantastic of course for baked burritos but if you fancy Italian then a nice big lasagne wouldn't look out of place.

I'm loving this Serving Bowl it's available in two colour options - this shown and lime green and turquoise.  Please note the colours are exactly like the burrito dish above but since the sun came out when I was taking the picture, for the life of me I couldn't get the colour to show properly!

I wrote before about how easy it is to make your own tortillas with a tortilla press (also by KitchenCraft)    and this Ceramic Tortilla Warmer is just the thing to keep them warm without drying out.  Now, this can also double as a shallow casserole dish so it's fantastic value for money.























The World of Flavours range isn't all Mexican you can choose from Italian, Indian, Mediterranean, Oriental or Stateside.

Nacho and Dip Serving Bowl:  30cm is dishwasher safe and oven safe to 150C/302F

Burrito Dish: 27cm x 19.5cm x 6cm is dishwasher safe and oven safe up to 220C/428F

Serving Bowl: 18cm x 9.5 cm and is dishwasher and microwave safe

Ceramic Tortilla Warmer/ Casserole Dish: 23cm x 10cm and is dishwasher, fridge, freezer and microwave safe and is oven safe to 220C/428F 

To see these and more great products and to find your nearest stockist pop over to KitchenCraft.


Thank you to Sarah at KitchenCraft for sending me these to review.

Disclaimer:  All thoughts and opinions are my own.  I was not required to write a positive review.


Wednesday, 18 February 2015

Hob Top Glass Tea Pot - Judge Cookware

This rather nice and very stylish tea pot from Judge Cookware has cloud-resistant glass and can be used on all hob types including induction to boil water and keep tea warm.  Having been sent one to review here's how it went....




























It has a capacity of 500ml-900ml so will make between two and five cups of tea or two big mugs.  I'm thinking this would make an ideal for a Mother's Day gift.    
Talking of Mother's Day, in the next post I'll be running a giveaway since the nice people at Judge Cookware are giving away a Glass Hob Top Tea Pot and Two very nice Glass Cappuccino/Teacups  so be sure to watch out for this!

























Cleaning:
Having used the tea pot a good amount of times now I can say that even with the very hard water we have in this area it's still looking good.
The bottom plate inside did start to become dull looking, but it was nothing that a splash of vinegar and a wipe round before washing and rinsing didn't sort out.  The tea pot is dishwasher safe.  It will probably need cleaning with a descaler every 3/6 months depending on the hardness of the water where you live.

By the way, vinegar is most marvelous for sorting out water stains on all manor of things - I use it on the inside bottom plate of my Judge Soup Maker (after boiling eggs in it) and that comes up shiny like a new pin!

How to use:
Just put the amount of tea leaves (according to your taste) into the removable stainless steel infuser.  Fill with water and pop onto the hob then and heat until almost boiling.  I was nicely surprised to find the handle doesn't get too hot to pick up - it's fine.  Now sit back and enjoy a nice cuppa!

Typical In-store price is £40

Pop over to Judge Cookware (JudgeCookware on Twitter) for more information on this and other great products.

Disclaimer:  Thank you to Judge for sending me this tea pot to review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.  I was not required to write a positive review.

Thursday, 5 February 2015

Next Generation Optimum 9200 Power Blender

Oh my goodness, I have a new toy in the kitchen!  Please let me introduce the Next Generation Optimum 9200 Power Blender.  Now this isn't just a blender, it's a multi-purpose high-performance blender which is suitable for both home and commercial use.  We are talking power here - Oh yes, this is bees knees of blenders!  A heavy-duty, professional quality blender with high speed of 44,000 RPM (revolutions per minute) and a 2,611 watts motor.
 



































Along with a small group of UK food bloggers I have been sent one of these fantastic machines to play with and keep.  I've joined the Froothie Ambassador Program and will be sharing my recipes as I get to know this machine better.  It also means that if you are tempted to buy one through the links on this website I will get paid a small commission.

More about the Optimum 9200
The blender has high, medium, low and pulse functions and unlike it's predecessor the Optimum 9400 the 9200 also has automatic blending options for smoothies (blends automatically for set period of time) making it perfect for juice bars and people on the run; 25, 35 & 45 seconds.  The BPA free jug is made from heat-resistant polycarbonate and is 2L capacity.






































So what does this blender do:?
Make Healthy Fruit or Green smoothies, Grinding nuts and grains, Crushes Ice, Making Nut Butters, Making Nut Milks, Ice Cream from frozen fruits, Blend and Heat Soups (through friction heat and yes it really works, I've tried it), Spreads and Dips, Fresh Fruit Juices, Cocktails, Omelettes, Making Custard and Sauces, Shredding Cheese, Making Bread or Pizza Dough and much more.
I've just made a super healthy yogurt drink which will follow as my next post.
   
The state of the art Two in One Stainless Steel 6-blade cutting assembly:
Equipped with Japanese-made blades, the Optimum 9200 can pulverize the thickest ingredients with no hassles and no struggle. Please note due to the angle of my picture you can't see all six blades the other two are smaller, underneath and point downwards.

Cleaning is simple:  
Just add a little hot water along with a small squirt of washing up liquid pop the lid on and run on high for about 30 seconds then rinse and dry.  

The blender also comes with an instruction manual and an 83 page raw recipe book to give you some ideas and get you started.  It has a sturdy tamper tool too so nothing gets stuck to the sides.

Of course there are other high-powered blenders on the market so lets compare the Optimum 9200 with the Vitamix Pro 500:


 
Okay, the Next Generation Optimum 9200 blender doesn't come cheap (but at the time of writing it's currently on offer selling at £329) which is a saving of £100

It really is a seriously amazing piece of kit and the build quality is second to none.  

The supplier (Froothie UK) offers a free 30 day trial which means if you don't like it you can just send it back for free, but I say you will love this machine as much as I do. 

The Optimum 9200 Next Generation (affiliate link) comes with 6 years Domestic Warranty as standard.

The Optimum 9400 comes with 5 years domestic warranty as standard, but readers can get an extra 2 years warranty by adding the code 'Special Ambassador Offer' at the checkout.

If you have any questions please do contact me by leaving a comment at the end of this post and I will answer any questions you have regarding the Optimum 9200 blender.

Did you know?
The Optimum 9400 and 9200 blenders can actually blend Stones into Dust see the video here:

Froothie have loads of You Tube videos you can watch which will give you more information on what the Optimum blenders can do:  Please note the video refers to the 9400 but the 9200 new generation can do the exactly the same things.


   

Disclosure: Froothie UK sent me an Optimum 9200 Next Generation Power Blender to use and review at home. I have not been paid for this post and was not required to give the blender a positive write up. All opinions are my own. Affiliate links included in this post.

Wednesday, 4 February 2015

Vegetable Spaghetti - Microplane Spiral Cutter Review

Let me tell you about this new Microplane Spiral Cutter - it's easy to use and easy to clean too. This spiral cutter allows you to make spiral cuts out of fresh vegetables. So yes, you can now make your veg look all  posh!






















Courgettes, carrots, cucumber all work well and also I'm thinking beetroot would be good too although I haven't tried it - could be a bit messy?!   To use the spiral cutter, just hold what ever it is you're cutting at a slight angle making sure the whole side of the vegetable touches the blade and twist. 



























The two different size barrels are for different size veg - the larger one being perfect for cucumber and the smaller for carrots.

The blades are really sharp and slice through vegetables with ease.  I have to say I couldn't get the spirals quite as long as I'd have perhaps liked without some breaking - probably just me not getting the hang of it.  Don't get me wrong the spirals still looked good and it's great for stir-fries, creating garnishes or to make a more interesting side salad a bit different from the norm.    

The soft-grip exterior makes it comfortable to hold and easy to use and fits easily in your hand and it's also dishwasher safe.


With a RRP of £9.95 I think this is a reasonable price.
To buy a Microplane Spiral Cutter (available in Green or Black) please pop over to Steamer Trading

Many thanks to Steamer and PBM Marketing for sending me one to review.

Disclaimer:  All thoughts and opinions are my own.  I was not required to write a positive review. 

Sunday, 25 January 2015

STOVES Sterling 600MF Built In Oven and Hob - Review

Much excitement here at A Glug of Oil since I've been asked if I'd form a partnership with STOVES, the UK's largest and best-loved cooking brands.  They're also the only manufacturer that builds freestanding cookers, built-in ovens & hobs and range cookers right here in the UK.
So what does this partnership mean?  Well, I'll be working with Chef Brian Turner (who is Ambassador for Stoves) creating recipes for Stoves, and getting involved in campaigns and running giveaways for my readers. 

Stoves recently installed this fantastic oven and hob so I'm now having fun playing with it even though I don't want it to get dirty!  Trying to take a decent picture proved pretty difficult since the oven is so shiny!  All you can see is the rest of my kitchen and rather horrid patterned kitchen floor, so please do try to focus on the actual oven!







































The STOVES Sterling 600MF is a 9 multifunction electric fan oven and grill.  With a usable capacity of 58 litres the oven is big enough for cooking pretty much anything.

Monday, 5 January 2015

Great British Sunday Roast - Made Easy with Judge Cookware

The Great British Sunday roast is a meal that is actually quite easy to make.  Once you have the vegetables peeled, chopped and ready to go, the meat or poultry is a doddle to cook, but of course like everything, having the right tools makes any job easier.
This Judge non-stick Roast Tin and 'V' Roasting Rack has been designed to cook meat to perfection.  It's made from heavy carbon steel, with a non stick coating and was both great to use and easy clean. 

 
The tin provides even heat distribution, while the rack has been fashioned  into a V to allow fat to drain away from the joint, giving you a crisper, healthier cut.  The excess oil can then be poured away, or used to make gravy.  As you can see the chicken cooked on the V rack came out of the oven with nice crispy skin.
Both the tin and the rack are dishwasher safe and have a RRP of £37.98
This pan is not suitable for hob use.  Suitable for oven temperatures up to 240c/460f or Gas 9
Measurements: 37x29.5x7cm

To Cook a Whole Chicken:
I like to push a few sprigs of thyme, rosemary and sage into the bird since when cooking it makes the kitchen smell amazing.  Drizzle with olive oil and rub the skin with a little sea salt and black pepper.  Put the chicken onto the V rack over the roasting tin and into a preheated oven (200c/400F of Gas 6) for the recommended time for the size of bird you are cooking.
A 2kg chicken takes about 1 hour 50 minutes.

Of course no proper Sunday Roast is complete without Yorkshire Puddings:
This Judge Yorkshire Pudding Tin cooked the pudding evenly and the only teeny weeny thing I could fault is it could have done with the rim being just 1cm bigger which would allow it to be removed from the oven easier since there's not much to get hold of when you have oven gloves on.  With a RRP of £6.50 I say this is an excellent tin and it cooked my puddings really well so I'm happy!


Gravy is another part of a good roast dinner and I can fully recommend the Judge Thermal Gravy Pot which I reviewed a while back and still use to this day.
To find out more pop over to Judge Cookware.  

Disclaimer:  I was sent the above products for the purpose of this review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own and as always I was not required to write a positive review. 

Friday, 12 December 2014

MyProtein Fresh Meat Delivery - Review

 





MyProtein is currently Europe's number one sports nutrition brand.  An online store with just about everything  for those into fitness and bodybuilding and covers both womans and mens fitness.
You'll find a huge range of Protein, Creatine, Amino Acids, Carbohydrates, Healthy Ingredients, Blends and Formulas, Tablets and Capsules, Bars, Drinks and even clothing and accessories.

Recently MyProtien have added Fresh Meat to their range and having been asked to review the delivery here's how it went.

Ordering is really easy, just browse the store and do the usual click and add to basket.  I noticed they have offer codes so be sure to look out for those - if you have one just add the code at the end of your shopping, you can go wrong it's really simple.

























Delivery:
Please note delivery of fresh meat is different than that of other products on the site and I can only comment on fresh meat delivery since that's all I ordered.

Wednesday, 10 December 2014

Virtually Fat Free Minced Meat - VonShef Premium Meat Grinder Review

We all know how versatile minced beef is when it comes to cooking - burgers, bolognese, cottage pie, beef chilli to name a few.  Of course minced pork is also good and I don't know about you, but I always use half and half mixture of the two when making bolognese.  But I'm always concerned about actually what goes into minced beef no matter where you buy it from.
Standard minced beef in the UK is 20% fat but you really should read the label since you'll find it can also contain all sorts of bits and pieces I'd rather not talk about!

Lean minced beef - labeled 5% fat and there's also 10% 12% and even 15% available - complicated or what?  In fact it gets even more so, have a read of this article by the Daily Mail and you might well be convinced it's a good thing to get a meat grinder and mince your own meat products.
 
Now if you have a meat grinder you can of course mince your own choice of beef, pork, chicken or turkey using prime cuts and at least you know what went in it!

Port and Redcurrant Glazed Roasted Root Vegetables - SCANPAN Review

My Christmassy Roasted Root Vegetables glazed with Port and Redcurrant Jelly are, in a word, delicious. Perfect for Christmas dinner or of course the usual Sunday roast.  So very easy to do too, and as long as you have a good non-stick pan you can't go wrong.

Usually I'd recommend you use a disposable foil tray since the honey can be hard to clean from a regular non-stick roasting tin.  But having been sent this beautiful Scanpan I put it to the test - would it be easy to clean afterwards?  Answer is yep it was a doddle.
Scanpan not only looks good but performs really well both in the oven and on the hob too.
 
























Scanpan products are made in Denmark and the Scanpan roasting pan has a non-stick ceramic titanium coating and is metal utensil and dishwasher safe.  This roasting pan is multi-purpose too since it has a base like a frying pan and it can also be used in the oven, under the grill and on the stove top.

Great Way to Buy British - Food Discovery Box Review

Let me introduce you to Food Discovery Box - a great way to buy British and discover new and rare foods from Britain's most exclusive producers.  Having recently been sent one of their boxes to try you can see it's like opening a treasure chest of new and exciting food products! Well they were all new to me anyway.   

I was instantly drawn to the Yorkshire Drizzle - Fig and Orange Balsamic Vinegar, having tried it I can say  stuff is GOOD!

Sunday, 30 November 2014

finum - Salt Pepper or Spice Grinder - Review

LOOK TOUCH TASTE™ by finum:  Winner of Interior Innovation Award 2014 and Good Design Award,  is a patented spice, salt and pepper grinder in the curvy shape of a bell.  At its base there is a patented collecting pool which gathers the ground spices within.  By tapping it, you can direct the desired amount of spices precisely where you want it.
 


Having been sent one of these to try for myself here's how it went:
I have to say this really is a good and proper spice grinder.  It's very comfortable to hold and I love the chubby stylish look.  Grinding up hard spices and peppercorns in this little fellow are no problem at all and it can easily be adjusted to set the coarseness of your grinding.  I noticed that the ceramic grinding mechanism doesn't clog up either as it does with some grinders.

As it's made from ceramic it means salt, pepper or herbs can be ground with no risk of oxidization or any other chemical reaction affecting aroma or flavour.   There's a clip on cover to pop onto the bottom part when the grinder isn't in use so there's no mess on the work top. 
As for cleaning - just wipe with a damp cloth.

Available in 4 colours (black, white, ruby red, apple green) and transparent
Glossy body, matte lower part
Adjustable coarseness of grinding
Easy to clean
RRP £24.95



For more information pop over to finum. Twitter @FinumStyle
Stockist www.loosescookshop.co.uk and www.ictc.co.uk

Disclaimer:  All thoughts and opinions are my own.  I was not required to write a positive review.

Saturday, 15 November 2014

Pure Chocolate Beads - for Drinking

Whoa!  This has to be the Most Creamy Chocolaty Tasting Drink ever - Pure Chocolate Beads that you simply melt in hot milk (or water) but it just wouldn't be the same.  Yes indeed, it's like drinking a bar of chocolate!

Anyone that reads this blog will know I'm not a one for anything chocolate but of course I did try it and it really is like drinking a bar of chocolate!  Paul (the husband) however loves chocolate, and declared Hans Sloane the best hot chocolate drink ever.  It's really rich and perfect for cold winter nights, you need about 3 tablespoons per mug but of course you can add more or less according to your taste.

Friday, 14 November 2014

Making Jam in the Panasonic SD-ZB2502 Bread Maker

Having recently reviewed the Panasonic SD-ZB2502 Bread Maker at the time of writing I hadn't tried making jam so as promised I gave it a go. 
Now, how marvelous it would be, but would it actually work?  Well folks I can tell you it certainly does.  No messing about with thermometers - just put the fruit in the bread pan along with jam sugar (sugar with pectin added) and Robert's your father's brother!


































The supplied recipe book says to use sugar and powdered pectin.  Now could I actually find powdered pectin in Asda or Tesco, errr no.  But that said I'm sure if I hunted about a bit in the right shop I'd find it.  But I wanted to make jam now.  So not to be put off I fancied that if I used jam sugar (Tate & Lyle) it would be the same difference, after-all it's just sugar with the right amount of pectin already added.

So, to make jam in the Panasonic bread maker (please note not all models have a menu for making jam) simply layer fruit and jam sugar in the bread pan.
  
 Select the correct menu, press START and sit back while jam happens.


So with the jam making a success it was onto making a Spicy Fruit Loaf.  Once again, faultless - I love this machine!


Nice and spicy and while cooking the kitchen smelt amazing.  Am I impressed with this bread maker - it's a big fat YES from me.   




































Disclaimer:  I was sent this Panasonic Bread Maker for the purpose of this review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own and are not meant to influence readers buying choice.  I was not required to write a positive review.

Tuesday, 11 November 2014

Jus Rol Bake it Fresh - Pain au Chocolat Review

I'll be honest (as always of course) I'd never thought about buying Jus Rol 'Bake it Fresh' products before - although I always buy Jus Rol ready made pastry since personally I think it's the best out there.  But having been sent some vouchers to try a few Bake it Fresh products off out I went to get some, and I'm glad I did.
Oh my, it has to be said I am really impressed with the quality of the the end product and how very easy they are to prepare. 



The rather ingenious packaging consists of what looks like a tin but with cardboard sides.  All you do is pull down on a tab and the tin pops open and out comes the ready made dough and appropriate filling - marvelous!
For example the Pain au Chocolat dough is ready made and once out of the tin it just needs unraveling since it's rolled up like a Swiss roll.  The portions are ready marked out and almost cut through so all you do is separate them.  Included in the pack (amazingly since the package is really quite small) are sticks of chocolate.  You place one stick of chocolate at either end of each slice then roll towards each other.  Pop onto a baking sheet seam side down, glaze with beaten egg and bake for 12 minutes at 200c - simples. 

Jus Rol products can be found in all good supermarkets and are located near the butter.  The range includes Cinnamon Swirls, Apple Danish, Pain au Chocolat, Croissants, Focaccia, Crusty Rolls and even Pizza Bases with Tomato Sauce.  To find out more pop over to Jus Rol.

Disclaimer:  I was sent vouchers to buy some Jus Rol products.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.  I was not required to write a positive review. 

Tuesday, 4 November 2014

Panasonic Stainless Steel Bread Maker - Review

Now, there are bread makers and there are BREAD MAKERS!  I think the very stylish Panasonic SD-ZB2502 would take some beating in looks and more importantly performance.

Having owned, and been using an older Panasonic model (the SD-255) for a few years now (and I might point out I was still using it till this fancy one arrived) I can tell you even though my older model is fantastic there was one thing that always bugged me - and that was the way you set it the programs.  You selected them and they went round in a loop which made it sometimes quite confusing to set.  That said, believe me it doesn't take much to confuse me.  With this one however I'm pleased to say it really is a doddle to set since it's done by simply select a menu number. 

The bread pan is longways as apposed to sideways as it was in my older machine - this is far better since this breadmaker takes up far less room on the kitchen worktop.
The dimensions are H38.2 x W25.6 x D38.9cm and the maximum loaf size is 0.8kg



Of course this bread maker isn't all about making bread - far from it.  Without an ounce of baking knowledge you can and I did, even if I do say so myself, create pretty decent looking Chocolate Chip Brioche Rolls and even Tear and Share Bread But it can also make Pizza Dough, Bake Cakes and even make Jam.   

Another improvement on older Panasonic models is the Yeast Dispenser - previously to this you would add the yeast to the bread pan along with the other ingredients taking care to keep it away from the water or salt which would ruin the loaf if they mixed using timer delay mode.   With this model the yeast is added to the yeast dispenser (round hole in picture above) which insures the yeast isn't mixed with other ingredients until it needs to be and the machine will automatically add it at the correct time.

What can the Panasonic SD-ZB2502 Bread Maker do?

What can't it do is more to the point!

Speciality Mode: 
Speciality Mode enables you to use various grains and flours like Spelt flour which cannot be made into a loaf easily on their own. The Rye Bread Program together with the unique mixing blade can create a range of tasty loaves using Rye and Spelt flours.

Yeast and Raisin-Nut Dispensers: 
Unique to Panasonic, the Yeast Dispenser drops the yeast automatically at the optimum time during baking. The Raisin Nut Dispenser adds additional ingredients to your recipe ensuring the best loaf every time.

100% Gluten Free: 
The 100% Gluten Free bread program allows you to bake gluten free loaves, using a wide range of gluten free bread mixes and flours. Giving you the convenience of having freshly baked bread that is tailored specific to your taste and needs.

Loaf Size and Darkness Options: 
The Panasonic bread machine adapts to your life. Whether it’s a smaller loaf for yourself, or an XL loaf for your loved ones, making the perfect loaf couldn’t be simpler. It is even possible to determine how light or dark you would prefer your loaf, by simply selecting the desired browning level.

Jam and Compote mode: 
The Panasonic Breadmaker can not only bake, but using the new Jam and Compote Mode you are spoilt for choice when creating your homemade jams at home. There are 8 jam and 6 compote recipes available in the breadmaker operating instructions to help you along the way.

How did I get on?:
This machine is really very easy to set, just decide which recipe you'd like to make from the recipe book and using the menu button, press until that number is shown, of course you must add your ingredients (the book tells you the ingredients and measurements needed for your chosen recipe) then you can either select START or set the TIMER (up to 13 hours time delay) a few recipes aren't suitable for delayed start but again the book tells you.   
 
As you can see from my picture above I actually managed to make Chocolate Chip Brioche Rolls and let me tell you they were seriously good.  The machine makes the dough for you and all you have to do is roll it out and add the chocolate chips, fold and roll again then shape into rolls, glaze and bake.  The inside honestly looked just like any brioche I've ever had before and tasted equally as good as when bought and baked fresh from a bakers shop.   

Next up I tried Tear and Share Bread, the supplied recipe book gives a few ideas for fillings but since I didn't have everything to hand t make the suggested fillings, I used half a jar of Sun-dried Tomato Paste and sprinkled with a good amount of Cheddar Cheese.  Another good job done I think you'll agree?

























If you're considering buying a bread machine I would highly recommend Panasonic since the automatic Raisin Nut dispenser takes the hard work out of adding them at the correct point in a recipe - for example you would have to listen out for a beep and actually be there to do this.  This machine does all that for you.  After all what would be the benefit of having a bread machine that you have to sit and watch?   So with this one your fruity loaf or seeded bread is all taken care of without the need for you to be there.

Panasonic say; 'The non-stick bread pan and kneading blade are coated with diamond particles, to ensure you will be able to easily remove bread from this unit once cooked'.
I say; Yep, another great improvement and it does work.  A freshly baked loaf easily slips out of the pan whereas before it was a struggle sometimes and I could easily have thrown my old bread maker across the room - just saying.  

Before this post gets so long everyone starts to fall asleep I'm going to leave it at this.  But I'll do another very soon with how I got on making Bread which was all good by the way.  At the time of writing I haven't made Jam so in the next post I'll tell you about that too.  Amendment - I have now made jam you can read how I got on here.

Selling at around £139.99 I think although that although you can buy other brands as cheap as thirty odd quid you really won't get the quality or different functions that this can do, nor would you get the same great results. So it might sound expensive but this machine is worth every penny and certainly wouldn't disappoint.

This Panasonic breadmaker is available in local John Lewis, Currys, Argos, and Lakeland retail stores and online at Amazon.

You can see other reviews of this breadmaker by Emily over at A Mummy Too
and by Helen over at Fuss Free Flavours. 

Disclaimer:  I was sent this Panasonic Bread Maker for the purpose of this review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own and are not meant to influence readers buying choice.  I was not required to write a positive review.


Wednesday, 29 October 2014

The Perfect Kitchen Timer - Review

I don't know about you but I've never seemed to have found what I'd call a really good and proper kitchen timer, until now.   This Two Channel Kitchen Timer from Oregon Scientific also has a Clock and LED Visual Alert too -  a clock and timer within one design. The two-channel timer allows you to alter between the count up and down functions.

The alarm volume can be adjusted, and when set to high it is seriously LOUD but that can only be a good thing.  How many times have you set a kitchen timer and missed it because it just wasn't loud enough?  Seriously this one is excellent and even set the the next volume down it is still louder than any timer I've had before. It has a nice big display too so it's easy to read.


Once the timer is set, the LED alert flashes continuously - now I'd have liked it to have the option to be able to turn that bit off since it will just use battery power unnecessarily - just saying.  Although with that said, being LED it most probably wouldn't drain the batteries in age so isn't a real problem but I do wish it could be turned off all the same.  The alarm comes with stand, magnet and even has hanging holes too.

  • Dual timer with count up/down function
  • Adjustable alarm volume – high / low / mute – with LED alert
  • Digital clock
  • With stand, magnet and hanging hole
  • Batteries are included
  • Product Size : 90(W) x 76(H) x 20(D) mm
So to keep a track of the Christmas dinner (or any other dinner of course) this is the very fellow that will do the job.  You can set one timer for the turkey and one for the roast potatoes!
With a RRP of £19.99 I say it's well worth investing in.
 
Disclaimer:  I was sent this kitchen timer for the purpose of this review.  All thoughts and opnions are my own.  I was not required to write a positive review.   

Sunday, 26 October 2014

Flour Tortillas and How to use a Tortilla Press

Flour tortillas aren't something I'd ever thought of making since you can buy them in just about every supermarket across the land.  Plus I would never have thought I actually could make them look authentic.

So when I was asked if I'd like to review a couple more items from KitchenCraft browsing through their website, I fell in love with this World of Flavours Mexican Ceramic Tortilla Warmer - just look at the colour of this dish it's amazing.  Low and behold, displayed right next to it was a Tortilla Press, now I just knew needed one of those too!


Saturday afternoon saw me busy in my kitchen making tortillas and yes out came the mixer (see my Instagram) I meant business! 

Wednesday, 22 October 2014

Soup Maker by Judge Cookware - Review

Brrrrr! It's just the weather for a nice bowl of lovely homemade steaming hot soup - but this Soup Maker by Judge Cookware isn't all about soup you can use it to make hot chocolate, milk shakes, smoothies and to cooks eggs too by using the 4 hole egg cooker attachment.
Recently scoring 9/10 in Your Home Magazine for best soup maker.  Having been sent one to review myself here's how it went.
 

 Now it has to be said I do love me a kitchen gadget or two dozen!  So within half an hour of it arriving at my door I was cooking eggs.  They turned out perfectly cooked in 11 minutes.
Next up, Spicy Red Pepper and Sweet Paprika Soup had to happen.....

Monday, 20 October 2014

Tassimo Vivy Hot Drinks and Coffee Machine - Review

 Tassimo hot drinks machines have intelligent barcode technology which means the barcode on Tassimo T DISCs are scanned by the machine and register the correct brewing time, temperature and the amount of water required for each beverage.  It's all completely automatic, all you have to do is pop in a disc, press the button and your drink is prepared and dispensed into your cup.


Having been asked to review the Tassimo Vivy machine here's how it went:
The instructions that are supplied with the machine are a series of pictures which are really easy to follow. 
 The Tassimo Vivy TAS1202GB is compact and quite small with dimensions of just 249 x 169 x 298 mm (H x W x D) so doesn't take up valuable work space in the kitchen - well space is valuable to me since my kitchen is really tiny!  The coffee machine holds up to 0.7 litres of water which is enough to make approximately three standard cups of coffee.


Operation is really easy - as you can see from my pictures above you can remove the drip tray if your chosen cup or glass happens to be too tall.
Put the cup underneath, lift the top and insert your chosen T DISC (upside down) don't worry it will only go in one way so you can't go wrong.  Pull the top back down and it will pierce the disc.  The barcode will then be read so the machine knows which drink you have chosen and therefore it knows how much water to add and how long it needs to brew.  Once the light next to the picture of the cup illuminates, press the button and your drink will be made for you.
In this case I was making a Oreo drink so once the chocolate part had dispensed and the light goes out you just lift the lid and insert the cream part of the drink. Pull the lid back down and press the button again to add the cream to your drink.  Of course some beverages such as tea don't have cream so therefore the above operation is just done once.

 There are a huge selection of T DISCs available online and supermarkets (apparently there are over 35 varieties including a range of Costa coffees including Cappuccino and others such as Kenco Medium Roast Coffee and Caffe Crema, Twinings Breakfast Tea and Chai Latte, Oreo, Cadbury Hot Chocolate and more) so I think that's plenty to choose from and something for everyone!

Oreo T DISCs:
The kitchen smelt amazing as the drink was being made but although the Oreo drink was very chocolaty in smell, sadly we both thought it was quite thin and had a slightly watered down taste and not half as nice as the Cadbury's hot chocolate drink which is good!

Coffee and Tea:
Paul (the husband) is a coffee lover and really likes the Costa Cappuccino - it's really creamy and a good consistency and he can't fault it.  Obviously you can't expect an hot drinks machine to recreate the proper coffee served in Costa which of course is made by coffee machines costing a fortune.  That said, Paul says the Tassimo does a pretty good job.
Although I'm a tea lover I've never been a fan of any kind of breakfast tea and so it would be unfair of me to comment on the Twinings Breakfast tea that was sent to us along with the machine.  

Cost:
The T DISC sell for around £4.25 so for example with Costa Cappuccino discs you will get 8 in a pack so each drink works out at around 53p per cup.   I suppose it depends on how many drinks you of your family are lightly to drink in a day as to whether or not that could be expensive.

Cleaning the Tassimo Vivy Hot Drinks Machine:
Maintenance of the Tassimo Vivy is effortless as the machine indicates when there is a need for cleaning or descaling, and this can be done simply with the on-board cleaning disc.  Cleaning takes around 30 minutes to complete but of course you can just leave the machine to it and get on with something else as it doesn't require you to do anything once the operation has started.  I should point out that the spout part comes out completely so you can clean and rinse once a day and the barcode reader window just needs a wipe.

All in All:
The Tassimo Vivy is a great little hot drinks machine - fantastic for home or in the office.  Drinks are quick and made without any mess, it's easy to clean and convenient and is small enough to fit in any kitchen.

Disclaimer:  I was sent the Tassimo Vivy and a selection of T DISCs for the purpose of this review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own and are in no way meant to influence readers buying choice.    


LinkWithin