Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts

Wednesday, 22 October 2014

Soup Maker by Judge Cookware - Review

Brrrrr! It's just the weather for a nice bowl of lovely homemade steaming hot soup - but this Soup Maker by Judge Cookware isn't all about soup you can use it to make hot chocolate, milk shakes, smoothies and to cooks eggs too by using the 4 hole egg cooker attachment.
Recently scoring 9/10 in Your Home Magazine for best soup maker.  Having been sent one to review myself here's how it went.
 

 Now it has to be said I do love me a kitchen gadget or two dozen!  So within half an hour of it arriving at my door I was cooking eggs.  They turned out perfectly cooked in 11 minutes.
Next up, Spicy Red Pepper and Sweet Paprika Soup had to happen.....

Monday, 20 October 2014

Tassimo Vivy Hot Drinks and Coffee Machine - Review

 Tassimo hot drinks machines have intelligent barcode technology which means the barcode on Tassimo T DISCs are scanned by the machine and register the correct brewing time, temperature and the amount of water required for each beverage.  It's all completely automatic, all you have to do is pop in a disc, press the button and your drink is prepared and dispensed into your cup.


Having been asked to review the Tassimo Vivy machine here's how it went:
The instructions that are supplied with the machine are a series of pictures which are really easy to follow. 
 The Tassimo Vivy TAS1202GB is compact and quite small with dimensions of just 249 x 169 x 298 mm (H x W x D) so doesn't take up valuable work space in the kitchen - well space is valuable to me since my kitchen is really tiny!  The coffee machine holds up to 0.7 litres of water which is enough to make approximately three standard cups of coffee.


Operation is really easy - as you can see from my pictures above you can remove the drip tray if your chosen cup or glass happens to be too tall.
Put the cup underneath, lift the top and insert your chosen T DISC (upside down) don't worry it will only go in one way so you can't go wrong.  Pull the top back down and it will pierce the disc.  The barcode will then be read so the machine knows which drink you have chosen and therefore it knows how much water to add and how long it needs to brew.  Once the light next to the picture of the cup illuminates, press the button and your drink will be made for you.
In this case I was making a Oreo drink so once the chocolate part had dispensed and the light goes out you just lift the lid and insert the cream part of the drink. Pull the lid back down and press the button again to add the cream to your drink.  Of course some beverages such as tea don't have cream so therefore the above operation is just done once.

 There are a huge selection of T DISCs available online and supermarkets (apparently there are over 35 varieties including a range of Costa coffees including Cappuccino and others such as Kenco Medium Roast Coffee and Caffe Crema, Twinings Breakfast Tea and Chai Latte, Oreo, Cadbury Hot Chocolate and more) so I think that's plenty to choose from and something for everyone!

Oreo T DISCs:
The kitchen smelt amazing as the drink was being made but although the Oreo drink was very chocolaty in smell, sadly we both thought it was quite thin and had a slightly watered down taste and not half as nice as the Cadbury's hot chocolate drink which is good!

Coffee and Tea:
Paul (the husband) is a coffee lover and really likes the Costa Cappuccino - it's really creamy and a good consistency and he can't fault it.  Obviously you can't expect an hot drinks machine to recreate the proper coffee served in Costa which of course is made by coffee machines costing a fortune.  That said, Paul says the Tassimo does a pretty good job.
Although I'm a tea lover I've never been a fan of any kind of breakfast tea and so it would be unfair of me to comment on the Twinings Breakfast tea that was sent to us along with the machine.  

Cost:
The T DISC sell for around £4.25 so for example with Costa Cappuccino discs you will get 8 in a pack so each drink works out at around 53p per cup.   I suppose it depends on how many drinks you of your family are lightly to drink in a day as to whether or not that could be expensive.

Cleaning the Tassimo Vivy Hot Drinks Machine:
Maintenance of the Tassimo Vivy is effortless as the machine indicates when there is a need for cleaning or descaling, and this can be done simply with the on-board cleaning disc.  Cleaning takes around 30 minutes to complete but of course you can just leave the machine to it and get on with something else as it doesn't require you to do anything once the operation has started.  I should point out that the spout part comes out completely so you can clean and rinse once a day and the barcode reader window just needs a wipe.

All in All:
The Tassimo Vivy is a great little hot drinks machine - fantastic for home or in the office.  Drinks are quick and made without any mess, it's easy to clean and convenient and is small enough to fit in any kitchen.

Disclaimer:  I was sent the Tassimo Vivy and a selection of T DISCs for the purpose of this review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own and are in no way meant to influence readers buying choice.   

Wednesday, 24 September 2014

Giveaway - Case of Beer

I must admit I'd not heard of Beer52 until a week or so ago when I was asked if I'd like a case of their beers to try.  Well, I have to say I'm more a wine than beer kinda gal so the beer tasting was left to Paul (the husband).  As you can imagine he was really pleased with this role of chief beer taster and is making his way through all eight beers, so far he's really liked every one of them, I think he has three more to go.


Anyway, I've since discovered that Beer52 are the largest and fastest-growing craft beer community in the world - which is pretty impressive. 
 Their founder James Brown started the club last year after he went on a motorcycle 'craft beer road trip' around Europe.  He discovered there were more than 12,000 microbreweries in the world, producing all kinds of amazing beers.  After that trip, he put together a team of craft beer experts who now handpick eight different beers each month for our members to try.  They're sourcing exclusive, small batch beers from the best tiny and experimental breweries around the world and if you order the beer is delivered right to your door.    
 Beer52 also produce a great in-house magazine about the beers we feature called Ferment.

Discount Code:
 If you pop over to their website and want to order a case of beer to try please enter this Discount Code Jan10 to receive £10 off your first order!  Don't forget you can have the beer sent as a gift.  Brilliant with Christmas soon upon us and you'll save a tenner too! 

Giveaway: 
The lovely people over at Beer52 are supplying a case of 8 beers which one lucky reader of this blog will win.  Please note the exact beers may vary from those shown in my picture. 

 How to Enter - Entries must be via the Rafflecopter widget:
Please note the prize can only be sent to the UK only. To see a short video on how easy it is to use Rafflecopter click here.
*Inappropriate comments will be deleted and entry/entries to the competition removed as will anyone that says they have left a blog post comment but really hasn't! 
For information on how to find the URL of your tweet click here - Entries that do not show the URL of the Tweet will be removed.
There is one main way to enter and several ways to get bonus entries, including bonus daily entries.
Competition end time is as shown on the Rafflecopter widget along with the terms and conditions.


Monday, 22 September 2014

Great Products from KitchenCraft - Review

KitchenCraft are one of the UK's largest kitchenware companies and have a range of kitchen, dining and housewares.  Having just launched a new range of Masterclass Crusty Bakeware they asked if I'd like to try that and a couple of other products.  So since I really needed a new cooks blowtorch and just love anything terracotta my choices were soon picked. 


Masterclass Crusty Bakeware:
Comes in a variety of shapes and sizes but I love this dinky (24cm x 18cm) cute little tray.  It's true there are no soggy bottoms with this one - the perforated holes allow food to crisp since the moisture can escape.  The tray is excellent quality and it feels heavy for it's size.  It doesn't warp when in use and is oven safe to 220C/428F
Guaranteed for 20 and 5 years non-stick.  Yep this is a proper good tray. 

 Medium Terracotta Baker - World of Flavours Mediterranean Collection:
Perfect for lasagne or roasting veg.  This baking dish is traditional style and is glazed all over apart form the bottom.  Dishwasher and microwave safe  and oven safe to 250C/482F
This particular one is 29cm x 21cm although it is available in other shapes and sizes and I just love the KitchenCraft terracotta tapas dishes they also sell.  Guaranteed for 12 months with proper use of course.
Since I'm quite lazy I did put mine in the dishwasher and it came out just fine.


Master Class Deluxe Cook's Blowtorch:
Perfect for finishing a Crème brûlée as you can see in my picture.   Oh yes, this blowtorch made short work of caramelising the sugar top.  Of course the anti-flare flame is adjustable and is easy to light, just hold the trigger down and it's good to go.  Fear not, there is a safety catch on the side for when it's not in use!
The flame works at all angles too.  The blowtorch is easy to fill too and has a fill level window.  The stand is detachable making it easier to use.  All in all yes I say this is well worth investing in - great also for browning meringues and melting cheese etc.


To find out more pop over to KitchenCraft - you can also follow them on Twitter @KitchenCraft

Disclaimer:  I was send these items in order to write this review.  All opinions and thoughts are my own.  I was not required to write a positive review.

Wednesday, 17 September 2014

Cajun Chicken - Gousto Recipe Box Review

In case you didn't know Gousto deliver fresh food recipe boxes directly to your door and each box contains everything you need to make the recipe and includes a really easy to follow recipe card.
 Having just been sent three meals each serving four people one of the meals was this Cajun Chicken with Couscous.
Now, I must say this really was delicious - the chicken was nicely spiced and the couscous and yogurt dressing complimented the meal perfectly.

   
     Since I last wrote about Gousto a while back they have lowered their prices by 17% and now meals cost between  £4.00 to £5.80 and that included delivery.
According to MoneySupermarket.com on average that's 16% better than most supermarkets. 
Gousto have worked very hard on these improvements, and have happily passed on all the savings to the customer.

Wednesday, 10 September 2014

Express Sausage Casserole using Tefal Cook4Me Multicooker

The Tefal Cook4Me is a Multicooker which means it can brown, cook, reheat, steam, pressure cook, or cook 50 different pre-programmed recipes or be used manually to create your own thing.  All in all this really is a brilliant invention.  Having been sent one to review (you can read about the Cook4Me in more detail here) and also see how easy it is to make a dish such as Beef Madras in just 20 minutes.

Well today let me tell you about this seriously quick and very tasty Sausage Casserole with cooking time of just 9 minutes.  No fancy ingredients either, in fact I used a shop bought cook-in sauce in order to show just how very easy and simple this multicooker really is.  

 
The Cook4Me as I said come with 50 pre-programmed recipes and to create your own recipe is just find a similar recipe, in this case it was Sausage and Bean Casserole.  Now, none of the recipes are difficult at all nor do they require any fancy ingredients.  But the pre-programmed recipe called for dicing a carrot and a red pepper and a glass of red wine.  Okay that's nothing tricky as I say but what if you actually can't be bothered to even do that?  

So, armed with a jar of sausage casserole cook-in sauce 'Homepride' if you must know!
I chopped an onion and a few mushrooms which you don't have to but doing so will of course give more flavour.  I then selected the sausage and bean stew recipe on the Cook4Me and browned the sausages and onions as instructed. Then I poured in the cooking sauce, closed the lid and waited a whole 9 minutes for it to cook!  Now, this caught me out a bit since the mashed potatoes weren't ready.  All my fault as it does tell you at the start how long or should I say quickly it will take to cook. Please note the cooking time of 9 minutes is to serve 4 people - to serve 2 people the cooking time is less and just 6 minutes!


Anyway, no need to fuss since the Tefal Cook4Me automatically switches to keep warm.  Food can be kept warm for up to 90 minutes.


 Up next time is soup using a pre-programmed recipe but I can't decide between Butternut or Leek and Potato, what do you reckon?

To find out more on this and other great products pop over to the Tefal website.

Disclaimer:  I was given the Tefal Cook4Me multicooker for the purpose of a review which can be read by following the link mentioned earlier in this post.  All thoughts are my own.  I was not required to write a positive review.

Monday, 8 September 2014

Express Beef Madras - Tefal Cook4Me Multicooker Review

 Imagine being able to cook a Beef Madras Curry with a cooking time of just 20 minutes?  Fantastic, but only of course if the beef is juicy, tender, full of flavour and tastes good.
 Well, this Beef Madras using casserole beef (braising steak) actually did cook in 20 minutes and it was seriously good.  Oh yes we're seriously impressed with the Cook4Me Multicooker from Tefal.



 Having recently been asked if I'd like to review the Tefal Cook4Me Multicooker the answer was of course yes please.  I wasn't really sure what to expect since I've never had a multicooker before and wasn't quite sure how they worked.  So, armed with lots of questions as soon as it arrived I wanted to use it!
I'll answer all of my questions and of course if you have any please leave a comment and I'll answer it.

 Picture of Cook4Me supplied by Tefal since it's so shiny I found it almost impossible to take a picture that didn't show myself  and my kitchen in it!


 Does is really cook meals in super quick time and if so, are they just as tasty as you'd expect?
Can someone that really isn't into cooking (such as Paul the husband) be able to use the Cook4Me to create a proper meal without any stress?
  •  How does Cook4Me work?
  • Is it easy to use?
  • What kind of foods can you cook in it? 
  • Do the pre-programmed recipes actually work?
  • Can you make up your own recipe? 
  • Is it easy to clean after use? 
 About Tefal Cook4Me and how it works:
 Cook4Me comes with 50 pre-programmed recipes and it guides you step by step to cook meals for 2 to 6 people. With just the push of a button you can cook a variety of meals in next to no time - great if you want to spend less time in the kitchen. 
The pre-programmed recipes include Starter and Side dishes, Main dishes and desserts.  I haven't tried any desserts as yet but will include one in another post.  I have to try the Molten Chocolate Puddings, don't you think?
Five cooking settings allow you to pressure-cook, steam, brown, simmer, or reheat your meals.
    There's no need to stand watching it either as when the meal is ready, the cooker automatically switches to keep warm until it's time to eat.

The display menu is both easy to read and understand: 
Ingredients, Recipes, Manual and Favourites. By selecting one of these takes you to the following:  Meat and Chicken, Fish and Shellfish, Rice and Cereals.  The OK button is like a select button, you turn it to your chosen category.  The arrow button is like a return button and takes you back to the last menu.  In a word, it's really simple to use.  Yes tried and tested - Paul (the husband) actually made Chicken Tikka Masala all by himself - let me tell you that really is something! 

What other kinds foods can you cook: 

You can of course set it to cook a specific ingredient such as Rice, Quinoa, Bulgar Wheat,  Apples, Broccoli, Cauliflower, Carrots, Potatoes, Peas and Spinach to name just a few.  Everything you want to cook the Cook4Me guides you as to how to cook it.

Do the pre-programmed recipes work:
I've used mine a good few times now and have found it really easy to look for a similar recipe and adapt it to your own recipe.  So far I've cooked Chicken Tikka Masala, Beef Madras, Carrots and Cauliflower and every time the result has been perfect.  The Chicken was really tender as was the meat in the Beef Madras.
Just following the instructions on the screen - select how many you are cooking for and it will display the recipe for you to follow.


Can you use a similar pre-programmed recipe in order to make your own:
Yes you can , just find a recipe that's similar to what you want to cook and use your own ingredients rather than those suggested.  For example there is a pre-programmed recipe for Sausage and Bean Stew.  But since I didn't have all the ingredients to make it I chose to make a Sausage Casserole using a jar of shop bought cooking sauce. It turn out just perfect and since this post is already getting quite long I'll include that in a later post.
     
What about Cleaning:
      At first glance of the instructions you could think that cleaning looks a bit of a bother - only due to the fact that you have to remove the pressure valve and wash the drip tray.  Take it from me this honestly takes a couple of minutes in total to remove, clean, dry and reassemble.  The removable pot and steam basket are dishwasher compatible.  The removable pot is non-stick and a doddle to wash by hand in sudsy water so personally I can't see the need to put it in the dishwasher.

All in All:
  Okay, this muliticooker isn't cheap (RRP £249.99) although at the time of writing I see it's now £220.00 but with that said I wonder if cheaper multicookers on the market would perform as well.
Cook4Me is available from Lakeland instore and online - you can also buy it through Amazon too. 
 I'd go as far as to say it really is worth investing in - especially if you work and have a family to feed.  None of the recipes are tricky nor do they require many ingredients either.  Easy to clean and easy to use.  Since it lots of recipes cook in extra quick time - it will of course save you money too.  Remember the beef madras used casserole steak/braising steak which usually requires cooking slowly for at least 3 hours took just 20 minutes in the Cook4Me. Personally I'd recommend this to anyone.

50 pre-programmed savoury and sweet dishes with a maximum of six ingredients
    Keeps food warm for up to 90 minutes after cooking
    Easy to clean - the ceramic- coated bowl is non-stick, removable and dishwasher safe
    Tell it the ingredient and weight and it will automatically suggest the best way to cook your food
    36.5 x 36.5 x 32cm H. Watts 1300 Capacity 6 litres



Many thanks to Tefal for sending me the Cook4Me to review.

Disclaimer:  I was given this multicooker for the purpose of this review.  All thoughts are my own.  I was not required to write a positive review.


Sunday, 24 August 2014

EcoCook Energy Efficient Cookware and Bakeware - Review

The EcoCook range of saucepans, frying pans and bakeware from Premier Housewares are very light in weight and therefore heat up extremely quickly which of course uses less energy - the mineral-based white ceramic coating combines non-stick and brilliant thermal conducting properties. 


 New to the range this year are lovely lime green and black.

 PTFE and PFOA-free they are able to withstand serious heat (up to 280°C or 536°F) without the risk of blistering or cracking and they are non-stick.

 Having tried and tested an EcoCook frying pan and a baking dish over two years ago I can say they last a long time.  Bearing in mind, mine were used probably more than the average person, and only just recently the coating lost its lovely white colour and shine making them not so non-stick and sadly had to be declared as ex-pans.  That said after over two years of working hard they really are excellent value for money - prices from £14.99 and £32.99 - I'd recommend them to anyone wanting good quality, nice looking pans at a great price.


EcoCook is suitable for use on gas, electric, ceramic and halogen hobs.  Pans over 20cm are also suitable for use on induction hobs.  Easy to wash too, either by hand or pop in the dishwasher.

To find your nearest stockist pop over to Premier Housewares.

Disclaimer:  I was sent this product for review purposes.  All thoughts and opinions are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.

Sunday, 27 July 2014

OXO Good Grips Clean Cut Pizza Wheel - Review

New from OXO Good Grips is this rather ingenious pizza wheel. The Clean Cut Pizza Wheel is comfortable to hold and easy to use and the large (approx 4 inch) stainless steel wheel cuts though pizza thin or thick crust effortlessly.  As the Good Grips name suggests it really does give non-slip grip.


The blade guard makes it safe to store since it doesn't fall off easily which is a good thing but it pulls off quite easily when you're ready to the pizza wheel.  I love the slim-line design which makes it suitable to store in a kitchen drawer.  So it was out with my old and rather bulky pizza wheel and into my kitchen drawer with this one!
 

Cleaning:
It opens a bit like a CD case allowing the blade to be completely removed for easy cleaning and is dishwasher safe too.


Yep, I say this is yet another excellent product from OXO Good Grips and with a RRP at £10 - I say it's well worth investing in one.

You can see many more of my reviews on OXO products by clicking here.

Many thanks to Zara and OXO Good Grips for sending me this product to review.
Disclaimer:  All thoughts are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.  I only post reviews on products I truly like and therefore would but myself. 

  

Saturday, 19 July 2014

Meat Box Delivery from Meat Porter - Review

There's nothing quite like a good sized English Breakfast to keep you full pretty much all day long.
Of course good quality ingredients are essential.  Proper bacon (smoked back bacon is the only way to go in my opinion) and nicely seasoned meaty sausages  - both have to be just right.
Okay that's the meat sorted so now for the mushrooms, I love these baby portobello mushrooms.  A nice big tomato is essential, baked beans are good too and any leftover cooked potatoes are perfect - just fry them till they start to brown along with the rest of the breakfast.  Another essential is a lovely golden yolked fried egg or two.  Pop some fresh crusty buttered bread on the side of the plate and you're done.
Having recently been sent a rather nice box of meat from Meat Porter, a full English breakfast just had to happen.


Meat Porter is an online artisan butcher, sourcing and delivering high quality fresh meat to your door. We source from the same producers as top London restaurants, guaranteeing you that gourmet experience every time you dine.

Wednesday, 9 July 2014

Fro-Fru Frozen Fruit Dessert Maker - Review

Frozen Fruit (Fro-Fru)
This refreshing pineapple sorbet was made in less than a minute (after freezing the fruit beforehand) thanks to this great little gadget 'Fro-Fru' from Judge Cookware.  
Of course you can use whatever fruit takes your fancy, bananas, strawberries, blackberries, peaches, raspberries - the list is endless.  Dairy products - milk, cream and yogurt can be used to conjure up a delicious dessert in no time at all.  Kids and adults alike will love this little machine! 


 Here's a few proper pictures of the Fro-Fru from Judge Cookware:




Saturday, 28 June 2014

Chicken with Chorizo and Chilli - Ragu Pour Over Sauce

As someone that really enjoys cooking I don't often use ready made sauces.  That said, of course I do if I'm in a hurry or on a day when I simply can't be bothered.  Ragu have recently launched a new range of pour over sauces and I was sent some to try.  The sauces can be used with meat of your choice, chicken, fish or of course over pasta. 


There are four sauces in the range (although only three are shown in the lovely hamper I was sent) because one pot had sadly met with a bit of an accident in the post!



Each pot serves 2-3 and comes in a microwavable 370g pot and is ready to serve in just 2 minutes. With a RRP of £1.69 a pot I think that's excellent value - the range consists of:
Arrabbiata, Primavera, Sun-dried Tomato and Black Olive and Chorizo and Chilli.

Tuesday, 24 June 2014

Strawberries and Ice Cream Eton Mess Dessert

Now this dessert came about since I couldn't wait to try out the Strawberry Huller - new from OXO Good Grips and of course the Berry Bowl.
Perfect for summer this Eton Mess style dessert takes no time at all to make and makes perfect eating whilst watching Wimbledon! 



First things first - you need good tasty strawberries and it has to be said these strawberries (kindly sent to me from Berry World) were seriously the best we've ever had.
 The 'Sweet Eve' is a truly British born-and-bred strawberry. They were so, so sweet and juicy and really didn't need anything else with them.  But I was asked to make a dessert and so I did!

The new Berry Bowl from OXO Good Grips is really handy and just the right size to hold a full punnet of strawberries.  There's a colander so you can wash and drain your berries before removing the hulls with this neat Strawberry Huller, also from OXO Good Grips - more about that in a bit.

Wine Collection Hamper from Harrods - Review

I was recently asked if I'd like to review a hamper from Harrods.  I chose this lovely Seasonal Wine Collection Hamper containing a mixture of red, white and rose wines.  Just as you would expect from Harrods, the hamper arrived in perfect condition and I must say the packaging is impressive - it looks so good I don't want to throw the box away!


Inside the outer 'Harrods' box was the hamper box itself, the two gold coloured ropes made the hamper easy to pull out.
All six bottles of wine were very well protected, encased in molded polystyrene and there was a Harrods Corkscrew too.

What about the wines?
Since I'm most certainly not an expert on wine at all, I've taken the text taken from Harrods website to give you more of an idea about each wine than I could.  One quick word though before ordering - since this is a seasonal collection of wines, you may want to check as the contents may vary from those listed below.

*Nadaria Syrah:  An impressive wine displaying plum and damson combined with hints of blackberry bush and leather.

Aliança, Quinta da Garrida Reserva:  Combining classic Portuguese characters with modern wine-making, the 2007 has juicy black cherry appeal.

*Gouguenheim Pinot Noir:  A high quality wine from a unique terroir in the Andes foothills of Argentina.

*Borsao Selección Blanco Campo de Borja:  Possesses a yellow straw colouring with powerful aromas of citric and tropical fruits. 75cl.

*Aotea Nelson Sauvignon Blanc:  With lovely fruit characters, the 2011 Aoetea Sauvignon Blanc is crisp and refreshing with a clean finish.

*Circumstance Cape Coral Mourvedre Rosé: A beautifully dry, mineral and firm wine.



This Seasonal Wine Collection Hamper along with a fantastic range of food and wine hampers including gift boxes to suit all occasions and budgets are available from £19.95 to £2,000

Disclaimer:  Many thanks to Harrods for sending me The Seasonal Wine Collection.  All thoughts are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.

Monday, 16 June 2014

Tefal Fresh Express Cube and Stick - Review

Chopping, slicing, grating, sticks and cubes of all kinds of vegetables and fruit are rustled up in next to no time with this marvelous must have kitchen gadget from Tefal.  It can cope with pretty much everything from apples, aubergine, beetroot and bananas to potatoes, carrots, celery, cheese, pineapple and many more.


 This and many other kitchen appliances are available from Tesco Direct.  It comes with five easy to change coloured cartridges which are stored in a transparent cartridge.  Just select the cartridge that corresponds to the desired use - each one is easy to identify simply by looking at the type of blade.  That said, the instructions for this product are excellent and you'll find an easy to follow chart on which colour cartridge is suitable for which food item and tips on how to use it.   

Wednesday, 28 May 2014

The Bakers Dozen James Martin Bakeware by Stellar - Review

Stellar Cookware have recently launched a truly lovely range of bakeware by James Martin 'The Bakers Dozen' consists of 13 essential bakeware essentials.
 

 A spring form cake tin
2 good sized baking sheets
2 baking trays
 2 roasting tins
2 loaf tins
a square loose base cake tin
a Swiss roll tin
a fluted flan tin 
and a muffin tin

Having been sent the Large Roasting Tin to try (which was perfect for a Sunday roast) I must say I'm seriously impressed.  I've tested many roasting tins over the years but so far this has to be the best.   Made from heavy grade carbon steel which gives it even heat distribution.  All surfaces of this sturdy roasting tin are double layer non-stick too.  It's dishwasher safe, although having cooked a roast chicken and then roast potatoes in mine I found all it needed was to be washed by hand in nice hot sudsy water -  it was effortless.
Oven use up to 240C 475F or Gas 9 but can also be used on the stove top on a low heat making it great for making the gravy.

The RRP of Large Roasting Tin  is £26.00 - okay at the time of writing I've only used it a couple of times, but I really believe this product will stay perfect for ages.  All products in the range come with the Stellar lifetime guarantee and 5 year non-stick guarantee.     


You'll find a James Martin recipe printed on each pack of Bakers Dozen products too!
For more information on this and other products including a list of stockists pop over to Stellar Cookware. 


Disclaimer:  Many thanks to Stellar Cookware and Pam for sending me this to review.  Although I'm already a big fan of Stellar products, all thoughts are my own and I wasn't required to write a positive review.

Friday, 2 May 2014

Food Preparation - Right Tools for the Right Job

As we all know whatever it is you're doing having the right tools for the job helps you get it done easier and quicker.  This is especially true in the kitchen - for example, every good cook needs a good knife, chopping board, mixing bowls and a measuring/pouring jug to name but a few.  Having the right equipment makes for better results too.


 I'm a huge fan of OXO Good Grips since their products actually work and do the job they say they will.
Having recently been sent the Batter Bowl and the Large 3 Piece Bowl and Colander set to review here's how it went.

Thursday, 17 April 2014

Tefal Optigrill - Bacon Wrapped Chicken with Pineapple Pepper and Chilli Salsa

Having recently been sent the Tefal Optigrill I wondered if it really would be as good as they say it is.
But in the short time I've had it I've used it to cook all sorts;  Bacon, Chicken, Burgers, Pork Steaks and Corn on the Cob and every one has turned out perfectly - yep this grill is excellent. 


 The Tefal Optigrill uses sensor technology to measure the weight and thickness of different meats to decide how long it will take to cook them.  For steak, the grill alerts you when the meat is rare, medium and well done.  Fantastic as you can take out a rare steak while leaving the rest to continue cooking. 

Monday, 24 March 2014

Rachel's Organic Greek Style Lemon Yogurt - Review

 If you haven't discovered these already, let me share with you - Rachel’s latest addition to the Greek Style range of Organic Bio-Live Yogurts.  
The new Lemon flavour is in our opinion, totally and utterly delicious.  Having been sent 6 large tubs to try I have to tell you they've gone - yes we seem to have eaten them all. 
Seriously creamy, smooth and very lemony with just the right amount of sweetness.
  

Is it wrong that I ate a whole tub to myself?!
Rachel's organic range contains the yogurt cultures Lactobacillus acidophilus & Bifidobacterium.
They are suitable for vegetarians too.
 
Typical values Per 100g
Energy 582kJ/139kcal
Fat 7.5g
of which saturates 4.7g
Carbohydrate 14.8g
of which sugars 14.3g
Protein 3.1g
Salt 0.1g

  I was pleased to see the whole of the packaging is suitable for recycling which is great stuff.  
Available now from Waitrose, Sainsbury’s and Ocado priced at RRP £1.99 for a 450g pot.

Many thanks to Rachel's for sending me some to try.  
Disclaimer:  All thoughts and opinions are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.

Monday, 10 March 2014

ChefAlarm Cooking Thermometer and Timer - Review

  The ChefAlarm from ETI (Electronic Temperature Instruments) is a professional cooking thermometer.  It has a count up and down timer which simultaneously displays the count up and down time.  The current temperature or your food item is displayed and it has high and low alarms which you can set to display the minimum and maximum temperature you want before the alarm sounds.


The timer is fully programmable and you can set the count up/down time to 99 hours, and 59 minutes. 

LinkWithin