Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts

Wednesday, 29 July 2015

Stellar Hard Anodised Bakeware Review - Tangy Tomato and Feta Stuffed Peppers

As we all know good bakeware is essential for good results when cooking.  Stellar’s Professional Hard Anodised Bakeware has even heat distribution with no rusting or flaking and no warping in the oven.  It's also easy to clean and free from PTFE and PFOA.

Having used my roasting tray a good few times now I have to say it's great and an affordable price too selling at just £20.00

As you can see this 32x22x5cm roasting tray is a good size and perfect for roasting vegetables and is available in different sizes.  It's really light in weight and the handles make it really easy to remove from the oven.

Made from an aluminium alloy which provides superior thermal conductivity for even heat distribution, essential for the baking of successful breads and cakes.  The pans are electrochemically-hardened (hard anodised) for unbeatable durability.

Friday, 24 July 2015

Marks & Spencer - New Meole Brace Foodhall Opening and a Giveaway

Marks & Spencer is known for its high quality, exclusive and innovative food products, but I think the ‘Tastes of the British Isles’ range is really something special.

M&S scoured the British Isles to find good traditional recipes and then recreated them, so you can ‘taste’ your way around the British Isles enjoying the best of British.  Over the past week I’ve tried a few of products so if you haven’t discovered Tastes of the British Isles yet, you can see what you’re missing out on!






































Arbroath Lochmuir Hot Smoked Salmon Slices; I loved these, the salmon slices come in a pack of two and are seasoned with cracked black pepper, mustard and dill.  Serve with a green salad for a light lunch or add new potatoes and fresh crusty bread for easy fuss free summer eating at its best.

Pork and Egg Pie; nice and meaty, a good and what I’d call a proper pork pie.  As with all M&S food the egg is free range.  Every slice apart from the very end slices had egg.  These pies are made by a Leicestershire company with 160 years’ experience.  The pastry was excellent too; yes I can honestly say this is by far the best pork pie I’ve ever eaten.

Elderflower and Cucumber Gin Fizz; this is so refreshing, just the thing for the lovely weather we’ve been having lately.  5.5%vol this ready-made cocktail made with white wine and elderflower extract, cucumber and gin.  Perfect summer drink that is a little too easy to drink!  You can really taste the cucumber; we loved it.

Hog Roast Sausage Rolls; made in Yorkshire with crisp all butter puff pastry.  The sausage meat and pulled pork work well together.  They had a nice flavour from the Bramley apple too.  Each sausage roll is topped with pork crackling and are ready to eat hot or cold, perfect for a picnic.  I heated 2 sausage rolls in the oven for me and Paul (the husband) to try and the crackling topping was nice and crispy - perfect.   When eaten straight from the pack without heating we found the crackling wasn’t at all crispy, still good to eat but thought they were far better served hot.

Cornish Cove and Bacon Posh Puppies; now I was pleasantly surprised as to be honest I didn’t fancy the sound of cheese in a sausage and therefore wouldn’t be something I’d have chosen to buy.  But with that said, I’m so pleased to have tried them as they really are the best!  These Posh Puppies are meaty and nicely seasoned; a lovely smoky taste from the bacon and the Cornish Cove Cheddar was, well cheesy and very tasty.

Sweet Potato Wedges with Chipotle Chilli Mayonnaise; so easy to cook, just remove the wrapping, put the mayo to one side for serving.  Pop the wedges into a preheated oven and once cooked, serve.  Simply dip into the chipotle chilli mayonnaise - nice. 

Old Fashioned Barbecue Sauce & Marinade; made from a classic English recipe with green peppers and a kick of British horseradish.  It can be used as a marinade for meat fish or poultry or you can use it as a sauce to top burgers.

Strawberries and Cream; you know how some strawberries can be tasteless?  Well these Herefordshire strawberries were quite the opposite; packed full of flavour and every strawberry was a good size which is something you don’t always find in other stores.  Perfect served with M&S Extra Thick West Country Single Cream.  














 

































Giveaway! Win summer drinks and a £50 gift card with M&S

To celebrate the opening of Marks & Spencer Meole Brace Foodhall, M&S is giving A Glug of Oil readers the chance to win a selection of tasty summer drinks, perfect for an alfresco weekend in the sun.  One winner will receive a selection of summer drinks from M&S’ popular Tastes of the British Isles range, and a £50 M&S gift card to spend in store.

M&S Meole Brace Foodhall at Meole Brace Retail Park in Shrewsbury opens on Wednesday 5th August at 10:00am.

The 8,000 sq ft store will create 50 job opportunities for the local area and provide shoppers with more than 5,500 food and drink lines, including the Tastes of the British Isles range, along with a selection of flowers, cards and gift wrap.

Customers can also look forward to a new 50-seat Café and in-store Bakery, which will offer a range of speciality breads, pastries and cakes, freshly baked each day.

To be in with a chance of winning, simply answer the following question by leaving a comment in the comments section of this post. 

How many seats will the M&S Café at the new store have?
a)    40
b)    50
c)    45

Terms and Conditions
1. One winner will be selected automatically by the Rafflecopter widget after the closing date of 17th August 2015 – the winner will then be contacted via email.

2. The winner will receive a selection of summer drinks and a £50 M&S gift card to spend at M&S Meole Brace Foodhall.

3. Prize not transferable, no whole/part cash alternatives, delivered within 28 days of competition closing date.

4. No photocopies are allowed.

5. Open to UK mainland residents only.

6. This competition is not open to employees of Marks & Spencer.

7. Marks & Spencer will be responsible for sending out the prize to the winner.

Good luck everyone!


 To see a short video on how easy it is to use Rafflecopter click here.

*Inappropriate comments will be deleted and entry/entries to the competition removed as will anyone that says they have left a blog post comment but really hasn't!

For information on how to find the URL of your tweet click here - Entries that do not show the URL of the Tweet will be removed. 
There is one main way to enter and several ways to get bonus entries, including bonus daily entries.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
Disclaimer; I was provided with the products listed above in order to write this post.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.  I was not required to write a positive review.  I received a gift card to cover my time hosting this competition on behalf of M&S

Wednesday, 8 July 2015

OXO Good Grips Complete Grate and Slice - Review

The OXO Good Grips Complete Grate & Slice Set has everything you need for grating and slicing all in one handy container making it so convenient to use and easy to store.  Everything needed sits inside a neat and tidy storage box, which can also be used to store grated food in the fridge.





























The Grate & Slice Set has coarse and medium grating surfaces, and straight and julienne slicing surfaces.  Each one is colour-coded so you just place your chosen grater or slicer on top of the lid as shown in my pictures and off you go!  If you're is a rush you can grate or slice over straight over bowls or plates. 

Sunday, 28 June 2015

Cheese and Wine Hamper Review and Giveaway - Serenata Flowers

Serenata Flowers are an online gift delivery company and they have a lot more than just flowers to offer.  You can send chocolates, wine, cheese and wine hampers, beer and ale, fine food, picnic hampers and also plants; hanging baskets, tubs of flowers or even a mini olive tree.  The list is huge and they even have hampers to welcome the arrival of a baby.




































Having been sent this Bordeaux and Artisan Cheese Selection hamper to review I must say at £39.99 value for money it's not bad considering next (weekday) delivery is included in the price.  Each gift comes with a gift card and of course when ordering you add a message which is printed on the card.

Contents;
  • Hand Waxed Black Berries & Apple Cheese 170g
  • Hand Waxed Scrumpy & Crunchy Apple 170g
  • Hand Waxed Worcestershire Gold Mature Cheddar 170g
  • Black Olive Cracker for White Wine 125g
  • Morrocan Spice Crackers for Red Wine 125g
  • Grangeneuve Bordeaux, Red

The hamper was well packaged and had more packaging than is shown above; I had to remove it in order to take a photo.  After ordering the hamper arrived the very next day, as with most companies Serenata don't deliver on a Sunday.  All in all I can't think of any reason why anyone that drinks wine and likes cheese wouldn't want to receive this hamper; we certainly enjoyed sampling it!

Find out more by popping over to Serenata Flowers.
Twitter @SerenataFlowers

Disclaimer:  I was sent this hamper to review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.


Now for the Giveaway!
The nice people over at Serenata Flowers are giving one lucky reader the chance to WIN £40.00 to spend over at Serenata Flowers and you can use for for whatever gift you fancy.

How to Enter - Entries must be via the Rafflecopter widget:
Please note the prize can only be sent to the UK only.  To see a short video on how easy it is to use Rafflecopter click here.

*Inappropriate comments will be deleted and entry/entries to the competition removed as will anyone that says they have left a blog post comment but really hasn't!

For information on how to find the URL of your tweet click here - Entries that do not show the URL of the Tweet will be removed. 
There is one main way to enter and several ways to get bonus entries, including bonus daily entries.
Competition end time is as shown on the Rafflecopter widget along with the terms and conditions.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, 2 June 2015

Sizzling Steak with Peppers Onions and Chilli - Judge Sizzle and Serve

Steak needs to be cooked quickly over a high heat so that it seals, keeping it tender and juicy.  All you need is a good piece of steak, sliced along with onions and peppers; coated in tiny amount of oil, soy sauce with a bit of seasoning, and a few chilli flakes and you have dinner ready in just a couple of minutes.






















But of course your pan needs to be HOT really hot, and this cast iron sizzle platter from Judge Cookware is perfect for creating sizzling meals or side dishes that can be taken straight to the table thanks to the maple wood stand that's included.  Sizzle and Serve range is suitable for all hob types and barbeques, and is oven-safe up to 240°C

Monday, 4 May 2015

Coolmovers - Butterfly Lane by KitchenCraft

Somewhere along the line I'm thinking I must have spoken too soon as the weather has cooled down in the past week; but with that said I'm sure there's more nice weather to come to time to start thinking about outdoor eating; actually today is looking good so far.  Picnics, BBQ's, a trip to the beach maybe, or simply just enjoying nice weather by relaxing in your own garden.

KitchenCraft have everything you need for outdoor entertaining and I'm loving their Coolmovers range.  Butterfly Lane is my personal favorite as it's so pretty; I don't normally do pretty but I've fallen in love with this range especially the ultra cute tealight holder.  Available in assorted colours - the tinted glass has an embossed butterfly metal decoration tag and swing handle.

Friday, 1 May 2015

How to Dehydrate Tomatoes using a Dehydrator

Now I've always been curious about dehydrators, I mean do they actually work, do they take forever and ever, to do their stuff,  and more to the point why do I, or anyone else for that matter, actually want or indeed need one?






















Tomatoes; oh I do love tomatoes!  With a dehydrator you can preserve your tomatoes so they're ready to add to recipes as and when you want them.  As long as your jars are sterilised then I'm sure they can be stored in small kilner jars in olive oil.  I must say I was really impressed that the tomatoes kept their colour when dehydrated, in fact they turned to an even deeper red; no PhotoShop doctoring used in any of these photos apart to resize.  So yes dehydrators do work!

Saturday, 11 April 2015

Snips® Italian Storage - Maxi Ice Container for BBQ's and Picnics

New to the UK is leading Italian storage brand Snips® who have recently introduced the 'Take Away Collection'; a range of storage products designed to make outdoor eating as fuss free as possible.  Each product contains an ice pack or two to keep food cool for up to 2 hours. 
   
Let me tell you about the Snips® Maxi Ice Container which is perfect for summer BBQ's or transporting your picnic whilst keeping everything nicely chilled.
The clip on lid is airtight and the whole product is very well made.  It's easy to clean too and dishwasher safe. The container has a 7 litre capacity and measures approx 40cm x 26cm and is BPA free.

Photo supplied by Snips® since I could never take a picture like this which show the product in such detail showing how it works.






































The Maxi Ice Container consists of the main container, 2 cooling tablets, a removable grill, lid with safety closure and a large carrying handle. The cooling tablets clip onto the underside of the grill part so they don't move about in transport.
The Maxi Ice Container has a RRP of £19.95 I personally think is a fair price.

One very small thing (on behalf of any vegetarians out there) I think the designers should have perhaps left the picture of uncooked chicken off of the lid, it's not a sticker so doesn't peel off. 

Also in the Snips® range is this very handy Ice Cake Holder - brilliant for keeping cakes cool since it has a cooling tablet underneath.  It's ventilated too so your cakes won't go soggy!






































To see the rest of the Snips® collection and to find your nearest stockist pop over to ICTC
Twitter @ictcCookware


Disclaimer:  I was sent the Maxi Ice Container.  All thoughts and opinions are my own,  I was not required to write a positive review.

Monday, 23 March 2015

UFUUD Premium Italian Food Delivery to UK and Europe - Review

I was recently asked if I'd like to place an order with Ufuud (an online Italian food ordering company) to review their ordering system and delivery to the UK.
Now we're talking proper premium Italian food that is not only delivered to Italy but can also be shipped to places all over Europe from Milan.




























I was in my element browsing through the Ufuud website looking at all the beautiful foods and the product packaging just cries out 'buy me'!  I mean seriously, look at the lovely products - I can't wait to try them all.
Pasta of all shapes and some you can't buy over here in the UK. 

Sunday, 15 March 2015

Stellar TATE Saucepans - Review

These new Stellar TATE one handed draining saucepans are in a word, fantastic.  I'm sure you'll agree they certainly look the part and I say you need these saucepans in your kitchen!
The perfectly flat lid, enables the pans to easily stack on top of each other which is great if like me, you're short of storage space in your kitchen.  Of course the clear lid lets you keep an eye on your food whilst cooking.



But the most brilliant thing about these saucepans is the way they have been designed regards draining.

Wednesday, 11 March 2015

Double Walled Glassware from Judge - Review

I'm really loving the new range of Double Walled Glassware from Judge - they're extremely nice looking don't you think?





The latte glasses are also a good size for a nice cup of tea (if you're like me and not a coffee drinker) whats more, they really do keep drinks hot for longer.  Perfect for sitting at the PC as I always seem to be, there's nothing worse than a lukewarm cuppa!

Monday, 2 March 2015

JUST EAT Tried and Tasted - Jimmy Wok Chinese in Hadley Telford

Have you ever ordered a takeaway from JUST EAT?  I have to say hadn't until last week.  Well as it turns out they have a vast range (more than I had imagined) of takeaways across the country that will deliver to your door.
It's also fantastic for helping you decide exactly what you want to eat - choose from Pizza, Chinese, Indian, Italian, Fish and Chips, Kebabs and more.




















After us both deciding on Chinese we logged into JUST EAT and found it so easy to order, you tap in your postcode, then select what cuisine you want to eat.  If you can't make your mind up, select 'Show Me Everything'.  This then brings up a list of all the takeaways that deliver in your area.  Just browse the menu of your chosen takeaway and add dishes to your basket.

Friday, 20 February 2015

Mexican World of Flavours Cookware Range by KitchenCraft

Now without sounding like an advert (that's not my intention) but it has to be said, the World of Flavours cookware range by KitchenCraft is, in my opinion simply stunning.
I love the style and bright colours, just look how good everything looks. Of course the build quality is excellent too.

First up is the Nacho and Dip Serving Dish which of course not only looks good but is practical too and certainly draws attention of guests. 


Also part of the range is this gorgeous Burrito Dish - fantastic of course for baked burritos but if you fancy Italian then a nice big lasagne wouldn't look out of place.

I'm loving this Serving Bowl it's available in two colour options - this shown and lime green and turquoise.  Please note the colours are exactly like the burrito dish above but since the sun came out when I was taking the picture, for the life of me I couldn't get the colour to show properly!

I wrote before about how easy it is to make your own tortillas with a tortilla press (also by KitchenCraft)    and this Ceramic Tortilla Warmer is just the thing to keep them warm without drying out.  Now, this can also double as a shallow casserole dish so it's fantastic value for money.























The World of Flavours range isn't all Mexican you can choose from Italian, Indian, Mediterranean, Oriental or Stateside.

Nacho and Dip Serving Bowl:  30cm is dishwasher safe and oven safe to 150C/302F

Burrito Dish: 27cm x 19.5cm x 6cm is dishwasher safe and oven safe up to 220C/428F

Serving Bowl: 18cm x 9.5 cm and is dishwasher and microwave safe

Ceramic Tortilla Warmer/ Casserole Dish: 23cm x 10cm and is dishwasher, fridge, freezer and microwave safe and is oven safe to 220C/428F 

To see these and more great products and to find your nearest stockist pop over to KitchenCraft.


Thank you to Sarah at KitchenCraft for sending me these to review.

Disclaimer:  All thoughts and opinions are my own.  I was not required to write a positive review.

Wednesday, 18 February 2015

Hob Top Glass Tea Pot - Judge Cookware

This rather nice and very stylish tea pot from Judge Cookware has cloud-resistant glass and can be used on all hob types including induction to boil water and keep tea warm.  Having been sent one to review here's how it went....




























It has a capacity of 500ml-900ml so will make between two and five cups of tea or two big mugs.  I'm thinking this would make an ideal for a Mother's Day gift.    
Talking of Mother's Day, in the next post I'll be running a giveaway since the nice people at Judge Cookware are giving away a Glass Hob Top Tea Pot and Two very nice Glass Cappuccino/Teacups  so be sure to watch out for this!

























Cleaning:
Having used the tea pot a good amount of times now I can say that even with the very hard water we have in this area it's still looking good.
The bottom plate inside did start to become dull looking, but it was nothing that a splash of vinegar and a wipe round before washing and rinsing didn't sort out.  The tea pot is dishwasher safe.  It will probably need cleaning with a descaler every 3/6 months depending on the hardness of the water where you live.

By the way, vinegar is most marvelous for sorting out water stains on all manor of things - I use it on the inside bottom plate of my Judge Soup Maker (after boiling eggs in it) and that comes up shiny like a new pin!

How to use:
Just put the amount of tea leaves (according to your taste) into the removable stainless steel infuser.  Fill with water and pop onto the hob then and heat until almost boiling.  I was nicely surprised to find the handle doesn't get too hot to pick up - it's fine.  Now sit back and enjoy a nice cuppa!

Typical In-store price is £40

Pop over to Judge Cookware (JudgeCookware on Twitter) for more information on this and other great products.

Disclaimer:  Thank you to Judge for sending me this tea pot to review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.  I was not required to write a positive review.

Thursday, 5 February 2015

Next Generation Optimum 9200 Power Blender

Oh my goodness, I have a new toy in the kitchen!  Please let me introduce the Next Generation Optimum 9200 Power Blender.  Now this isn't just a blender, it's a multi-purpose high-performance blender which is suitable for both home and commercial use.  We are talking power here - Oh yes, this is bees knees of blenders!  A heavy-duty, professional quality blender with high speed of 44,000 RPM (revolutions per minute) and a 2,611 watts motor.
 



































Along with a small group of UK food bloggers I have been sent one of these fantastic machines to play with and keep.  I've joined the Froothie Ambassador Program and will be sharing my recipes as I get to know this machine better.  It also means that if you are tempted to buy one through the links on this website I will get paid a small commission.

More about the Optimum 9200
The blender has high, medium, low and pulse functions and unlike it's predecessor the Optimum 9400 the 9200 also has automatic blending options for smoothies (blends automatically for set period of time) making it perfect for juice bars and people on the run; 25, 35 & 45 seconds.  The BPA free jug is made from heat-resistant polycarbonate and is 2L capacity.






































So what does this blender do:?
Make Healthy Fruit or Green smoothies, Grinding nuts and grains, Crushes Ice, Making Nut Butters, Making Nut Milks, Ice Cream from frozen fruits, Blend and Heat Soups (through friction heat and yes it really works, I've tried it), Spreads and Dips, Fresh Fruit Juices, Cocktails, Omelettes, Making Custard and Sauces, Shredding Cheese, Making Bread or Pizza Dough and much more.
I've just made a super healthy yogurt drink which will follow as my next post.
   
The state of the art Two in One Stainless Steel 6-blade cutting assembly:
Equipped with Japanese-made blades, the Optimum 9200 can pulverize the thickest ingredients with no hassles and no struggle. Please note due to the angle of my picture you can't see all six blades the other two are smaller, underneath and point downwards.

Cleaning is simple:  
Just add a little hot water along with a small squirt of washing up liquid pop the lid on and run on high for about 30 seconds then rinse and dry.  

The blender also comes with an instruction manual and an 83 page raw recipe book to give you some ideas and get you started.  It has a sturdy tamper tool too so nothing gets stuck to the sides.

Of course there are other high-powered blenders on the market so lets compare the Optimum 9200 with the Vitamix Pro 500:


 
Okay, the Next Generation Optimum 9200 blender doesn't come cheap (but at the time of writing it's currently on offer selling at £329) which is a saving of £100

It really is a seriously amazing piece of kit and the build quality is second to none.  

The supplier (Froothie UK) offers a free 30 day trial which means if you don't like it you can just send it back for free, but I say you will love this machine as much as I do. 

The Optimum 9200 Next Generation (affiliate link) comes with 6 years Domestic Warranty as standard.

The Optimum 9400 comes with 5 years domestic warranty as standard, but readers can get an extra 2 years warranty by adding the code 'Special Ambassador Offer' at the checkout.

If you have any questions please do contact me by leaving a comment at the end of this post and I will answer any questions you have regarding the Optimum 9200 blender.

Did you know?
The Optimum 9400 and 9200 blenders can actually blend Stones into Dust see the video here:

Froothie have loads of You Tube videos you can watch which will give you more information on what the Optimum blenders can do:  Please note the video refers to the 9400 but the 9200 new generation can do the exactly the same things.


   

Disclosure: Froothie UK sent me an Optimum 9200 Next Generation Power Blender to use and review at home. I have not been paid for this post and was not required to give the blender a positive write up. All opinions are my own. Affiliate links included in this post.

Wednesday, 4 February 2015

Vegetable Spaghetti - Microplane Spiral Cutter Review

Let me tell you about this new Microplane Spiral Cutter - it's easy to use and easy to clean too. This spiral cutter allows you to make spiral cuts out of fresh vegetables. So yes, you can now make your veg look all  posh!






















Courgettes, carrots, cucumber all work well and also I'm thinking beetroot would be good too although I haven't tried it - could be a bit messy?!   To use the spiral cutter, just hold what ever it is you're cutting at a slight angle making sure the whole side of the vegetable touches the blade and twist. 



























The two different size barrels are for different size veg - the larger one being perfect for cucumber and the smaller for carrots.

The blades are really sharp and slice through vegetables with ease.  I have to say I couldn't get the spirals quite as long as I'd have perhaps liked without some breaking - probably just me not getting the hang of it.  Don't get me wrong the spirals still looked good and it's great for stir-fries, creating garnishes or to make a more interesting side salad a bit different from the norm.    

The soft-grip exterior makes it comfortable to hold and easy to use and fits easily in your hand and it's also dishwasher safe.


With a RRP of £9.95 I think this is a reasonable price.
To buy a Microplane Spiral Cutter (available in Green or Black) please pop over to Steamer Trading

Many thanks to Steamer and PBM Marketing for sending me one to review.

Disclaimer:  All thoughts and opinions are my own.  I was not required to write a positive review. 

Sunday, 25 January 2015

STOVES Sterling 600MF Built In Oven and Hob - Review

Much excitement here at A Glug of Oil since I've been asked if I'd form a partnership with STOVES, the UK's largest and best-loved cooking brands.  They're also the only manufacturer that builds freestanding cookers, built-in ovens & hobs and range cookers right here in the UK.
So what does this partnership mean?  Well, I'll be working with Chef Brian Turner (who is Ambassador for Stoves) creating recipes for Stoves, and getting involved in campaigns and running giveaways for my readers. 

Stoves recently installed this fantastic oven and hob so I'm now having fun playing with it even though I don't want it to get dirty!  Trying to take a decent picture proved pretty difficult since the oven is so shiny!  All you can see is the rest of my kitchen and rather horrid patterned kitchen floor, so please do try to focus on the actual oven!







































The STOVES Sterling 600MF is a 9 multifunction electric fan oven and grill.  With a usable capacity of 58 litres the oven is big enough for cooking pretty much anything.

Monday, 5 January 2015

Great British Sunday Roast - Made Easy with Judge Cookware

The Great British Sunday roast is a meal that is actually quite easy to make.  Once you have the vegetables peeled, chopped and ready to go, the meat or poultry is a doddle to cook, but of course like everything, having the right tools makes any job easier.
This Judge non-stick Roast Tin and 'V' Roasting Rack has been designed to cook meat to perfection.  It's made from heavy carbon steel, with a non stick coating and was both great to use and easy clean. 

 
The tin provides even heat distribution, while the rack has been fashioned  into a V to allow fat to drain away from the joint, giving you a crisper, healthier cut.  The excess oil can then be poured away, or used to make gravy.  As you can see the chicken cooked on the V rack came out of the oven with nice crispy skin.
Both the tin and the rack are dishwasher safe and have a RRP of £37.98
This pan is not suitable for hob use.  Suitable for oven temperatures up to 240c/460f or Gas 9
Measurements: 37x29.5x7cm

To Cook a Whole Chicken:
I like to push a few sprigs of thyme, rosemary and sage into the bird since when cooking it makes the kitchen smell amazing.  Drizzle with olive oil and rub the skin with a little sea salt and black pepper.  Put the chicken onto the V rack over the roasting tin and into a preheated oven (200c/400F of Gas 6) for the recommended time for the size of bird you are cooking.
A 2kg chicken takes about 1 hour 50 minutes.

Of course no proper Sunday Roast is complete without Yorkshire Puddings:
This Judge Yorkshire Pudding Tin cooked the pudding evenly and the only teeny weeny thing I could fault is it could have done with the rim being just 1cm bigger which would allow it to be removed from the oven easier since there's not much to get hold of when you have oven gloves on.  With a RRP of £6.50 I say this is an excellent tin and it cooked my puddings really well so I'm happy!


Gravy is another part of a good roast dinner and I can fully recommend the Judge Thermal Gravy Pot which I reviewed a while back and still use to this day.
To find out more pop over to Judge Cookware.  

Disclaimer:  I was sent the above products for the purpose of this review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own and as always I was not required to write a positive review. 

Friday, 12 December 2014

MyProtein Fresh Meat Delivery - Review

 





MyProtein is currently Europe's number one sports nutrition brand.  An online store with just about everything  for those into fitness and bodybuilding and covers both womans and mens fitness.  You'll find a huge range of Protein, Creatine, Amino Acids, Carbohydrates, Healthy Ingredients, Blends and Formulas, Tablets and Capsules, Bars, Drinks and even clothing and accessories.

Recently MyProtien have added Fresh Meat to their range and having been asked to review the delivery here's how it went.

Ordering is really easy, just browse the store and do the usual click and add to basket.  I noticed they have offer codes so be sure to look out for those - if you have one just add the code at the end of your shopping, you can go wrong it's really simple.

























Delivery:
Please note delivery of fresh meat is different than that of other products on the site and I can only comment on fresh meat delivery since that's all I ordered.

Wednesday, 10 December 2014

Virtually Fat Free Minced Meat - VonShef Premium Meat Grinder Review

We all know how versatile minced beef is when it comes to cooking - burgers, bolognese, cottage pie, beef chilli to name a few.  Of course minced pork is also good and I don't know about you, but I always use half and half mixture of the two when making bolognese.  But I'm always concerned about actually what goes into minced beef no matter where you buy it from.
Standard minced beef in the UK is 20% fat but you really should read the label since you'll find it can also contain all sorts of bits and pieces I'd rather not talk about!

Lean minced beef - labeled 5% fat and there's also 10% 12% and even 15% available - complicated or what?  In fact it gets even more so, have a read of this article by the Daily Mail and you might well be convinced it's a good thing to get a meat grinder and mince your own meat products.
 
Now if you have a meat grinder you can of course mince your own choice of beef, pork, chicken or turkey using prime cuts and at least you know what went in it!

LinkWithin